Campaign Leadership Team

Scott Benson, Chair

Campaign Advisory Committee

Myron Frans

Hon. Donald M. Fraser

Shawntera Hardy

Thomas L. Johnson

Cathy Lawrence

Lariss Maldonado

Perry Moriearty

Lee Roper-Batker

Francis Shen

Jean Sanderson

Lee Sheehy

Laura Thomas

Court Leadership Positions

Judge Kappelhoff holds a number of court leadership positions. He is the Co-Chair of the Fourth Judicial District Court’s Domestic Violence Steering Committee and is a Member of the Hennepin County District Court’s Equal Justice Committee. He also was recently elected to serve on the Board of Directors of the Minnesota District Judges Association beginning this fall and served as the Fourth Judicial District’s representative on the Annual Conference of Judges Planning Committee.

Professional and Community Activities

Judge Kappelhoff is very active in community and professional activities. He is a member of the Minnesota Bar Association and the Hennepin County Bar Association, where he serves on its Diversity and Inclusion Committee. He also is a member of the Warren E. Burger American Inn of Court.

Judge Kappelhoff enjoys working with the Women’s Foundation of Minnesota, including serving on its “MN Girls are Not for Sale” Committee, an initiative designed to combat sex trafficking in Minnesota. He also serves as a volunteer mock trial judge for the Minnesota State High School Mock Trial Competition. And, he formerly served as a member of the Board of Directors of 180 Degrees, a nonprofit organization that provides social services and support for families, adults, and youth who have experienced adversity.  

Judge Kappelhoff also frequently participates in and speaks at conferences, community-based events, and legal education programs. He speaks on a variety of topics, including criminal justice policies and practices, human trafficking, constitutional policing practices, and hate crimes.